Former Projects

RAP in Linz
The Band Hinterland gives Rap workshop for unaccompanied minors refugees

[2016]

The number of unaccompanied minors making their way alone to Europe increased enormously in 2015. How can we support this group of young people? How can we help them express themselves in a new country?
Through the cooperation with the NGO Volkshilfe and the Upper Austrian hip-hop band Hinterland arose a wonderful opportunity. Michael Ojo and his partners started a Rap workshop, giving a group of teenagers every two weeks music lessons in ‘Rap’.

The workshop lasted six months in which at the end teenagers mostly from Afghanistan learned how to write their own story, their own song, sing it, and ended up recording it in a studio. You can listen to their song here

Psycho-social support through Music
A help for teachers of Syrian refugee children in Libanon

[2014-2015]

A cooperation with ‚Associazione Prima Materia in Italy (www.primamateria.it)

14705901_878256288976132_2950762363388285184_n
The music therapist Deborah Parker provided Syrian teachers and social workers at the Bekaa valey with training in music therapy. The training aimed at giving them the basis in psychosocial care and education in music. Musical skills such as listening, moving, dancing, singing, and creativity have been developed.

The training lasted 12 months and ended mid-October 2015.

Information about current projects can be found here.

Abgeschlossene Projekte

RAP in Linz
Hinterland rappt mit jugendlichen unbegleiteten Flüchtlingen

[2016]

Seit 2015 kommen vermehrt Jugendliche alleine nach Europa. Ihnen gilt unsere Aufmerksamkeit ganz besonders. Wie können sich Jugendliche in einem neuen Land ausdrücken? Was kann sie stärken?
Durch den Kontakt zur oberösterreichischen Hiphop-Band Hinterland ergab sich eine wunderbare Gelegenheit. Alle zwei Wochen kann nun eine Gruppe Jugendlicher eines Jugendwohnprojekts der Volkshilfe mit Michael Ojo und seinen Partnern rappen und dabei kreativ mit ihrer eigenen Geschichte umgehen.

Der Workshop dauerte sechs Monate, in denen die Jugendlichen, die meisten von ihnen aus Afghanistan, gelernt haben, wie man aus einer eigenen Geschichte einen Song schreibt und diesen singt. Zum krönenden Abschluss wurde ein Song professionell im Studio aufgenommen. Hören Sie sich das Ergebnis hier an >>.

Die Musiktherapie-Ausbildung
Eine Hilfe für Lehrer von syrischen Flüchtlingskindern im Libanon

[2014-2015]

Eine Kooperation mit ‚Associazione Prima Materia‘ in Italien (www.primamateria.it)


Unter der Leitung der Musiktherapeutin Deborah Parker bekamen Lehrer und Sozialarbeiter in der Bekaa Ebene eine Ausbildung in Musiktherapie, die die Grundlage in der psychosozialen Betreuung und Bildung in Musik bildet. Es wurden musikalische Fähigkeiten wie das Hören, Bewegen, Tanzen, die Stimme, Kreativität und Instrumentaltechniken trainiert.

Die Ausbildung dauerte 12 Monate und endete Mitte Oktober 2015.